We are emergency workers
in african markets

 
 

HISTORY

Knowdys was born out of the development of GwethMarshall Consulting (GMC), the first economic intelligence and public affairs consultancy firm specialising in countries of the Central African Economic and Monetary Community (CEMAC). GMC was founded in France in November 2007 by Guy Gweth with the primary goal of contributing, on a practical basis, to the competitiveness of economic actors in Africa who are faced with the increasing international competition.
The creation of Knowdys LLC, Knowdys France SAS and Knowdys Cameroun SARL meets the growing need of enterprises and investors to be accompanied on the African continent (market survey, due diligence and screening of local partners), their installation (paperwork and installation support), and their growth (quest for new markets, intercultural risk management, competitive intelligence services).
To boost the competitiveness of its clients, Knowdys created a unique database on markets, main enterprises, and Sub-Saharan African leaders in 2007. Created some six years ago, and updated on a daily basis with information provided by primary and secondary researches, commercial databases, and internally-conducted decryptions, this tool is useful in generating high value reports in 10 key sectors : food industry, insurances, aeronautics industry, auto industry, energy, banks, construction and civil engineering, pharmaceutical industry, telecommunications, and minerals industry.

The Top Management of Knowdys Group is a member of SCIP (Strategic and Competitive Intelligence Professionals).
 

THE TEAM

 
The Knowdys team is currently made up of 37 consultants from 13 countries working on 4 continents: Africa, America, Asia, and Europe. They are all experts on African issues.
 
Our consulting Partners are international experts in economic intelligence, lobbying, due diligence, financial investigation and private equity.
 
Knowdys also benefits from the invaluable collaboration of its Honourable Correspondents working in the domains of high finance, the bar, the diplomatic corps, security and defence services.
 

CEO

After finishing high school at Prytanée Militaire (St-Louis , Senegal , 1974-1981) , Ababacar MBENGUE graduated from HEC Paris (1984-1987). He continued his education earning a Master of Science from University of Paris (Nanterre) in 1988 , a PhD in Management Science in 1992 followed by an HDR (accreditation to supervise research) in 1996 from the University of Paris Dauphine , and the Aggregation of French Universities in Management Science (1996 contest). He was the first Black African to be successful in the French National Aggregation Competition , in Management Sciences.

Ababacar served for ten years as a business trainer , lecturer and researcher in management (EDF-GDF: 1989-1993; CERAM / Sup de Co Nice: 1992-1995; ESSEC: 1995-1997; Wharton School, University of Pennsylvania: 1996-1998) before serving since 1997 as Full Professor at the University of Rheims (France) , where he created and led / is leading , among other things , the REPONSE Research Team , the Management Department , the CAAE Master , the MBA Program , the “Management in Africa" Master , and the CIRFAM (International Center for Applied Research and Training in Management).

Ababacar is / was, among others , Founding President of the Society for African Management (SAM) since 2012 , member of the jury of the French Aggregation competition in management sciences in 2012 , President of the jury of the African Aggregation competition in management sciences since 2011, President of the Admission Jury of HEC Paris (MBA, Grande École...) since 2011.
As part of his research and training activities, Ababacar has developed over twenty-five years expertise on technical matters of administration and management to enable leaders and decision makers to optimize their strategic and operational capabilities , and effectively manage their human resources by establishing an appropriate framework to establish and maintain a structured and effective dialogue between the stakeholders, and to measure and strengthen the commitment of staff and ensure consistent enforcement of administrative and financial regulation, to develop best practices for implementing planning and efficient and transparent administrative and budgetary oversight, including management of both material and immaterial resources , information technology and communications , procurement , facilities and logistics assets...

This expertise is useful for large multinationals as well as for decision makers in the public and private sectors on strategic issues related to positioning , wealth creation , national development , and on complex technical , institutional , and normative issues on , inter alia , good management and governance challenges , rule of law , African and international issues, fight against poverty , development and the debt of African countries , human resources , education , science and culture , regionalism and integration issues.
 

THE FOUNDER

Before creating Knowdys LLC, Knowdys France SAS and Knowdys Cameroon SARL, Guy Gweth has worked for seven years as a risk management consultant and as international investigation officer for many Central African governments, renowned firms, NGOs, and think tanks. His references include: Caritas Internationalis, EDF R&D, Exxon Mobil, ENAM, Friedrich Ebert Stiftung, Sanofi Aventis, USAID.

As an economic intelligence consultant and expert in African markets, Guy Gweth manages the Doing Business in Africa programme within the Master of "Strategy and International Business Development" in Centrale Paris, and teaches international due diligence for the MBA of “Strategy and Consulting” in ESG Paris. He is also the head of economic intelligence of the financial news magazine Les Afriques.
Former member of the Executive Doctorate in Business Administration of Paris-Dauphine, Guy Gweth graduated from Ecole de Guerre Economique in Paris (Advanced School of economic war), Centre d'Etudes Diplomatiques et Stratégiques in Paris (Centre of Diplomatic and Strategic Studies), and Faculty of Law and Political Science of the University of Yaoundé II. He is also a member of the Strategic and Competitive Intelligence Professionals.
 

SEE FIGURES

Nous sommes les urgentistes
des marchés africains

 
 

NOTRE HISTOIRE

Knowdys est né du développement de GwethMarshall Consulting (GMC), premier cabinet d'intelligence économique et affaires publiques spécialisé sur les pays membres de la Communauté économique et monétaire des Etats d’Afrique centrale (CEMAC). GMC a été fondé en France en novembre 2007 par M. Guy Gweth avec pour mission principale de contribuer, de manière pratique, à la compétitivité des acteurs économiques présents en Afrique, face à l’exacerbation de la concurrence internationale.
Il est primordial, quelque soit la forme de contractualisation, que nous nous entretenions avec le client qui nous confie son recrutement et que nous  recueillons les éléments, tant sur l'aspect professionnel qu'humain, sur le futur collaborateur recherché. Votre temps est précieux et nous sommes à vos côtés pour l’optimiser en comprenant les enjeux et en ne délaissant aucune étape de notre travail.
Pour booster la compétitivité de ses clients, Knowdys a créé en 2007 une Banque de données unique sur les marchés, les principales entreprises et les dirigeants d’Afrique subsaharienne. Construite depuis une demi-douzaine d’années, et mise à jour 7j/7 grâce à des renseignements provenant des recherches primaires et secondaires, des bases de données commerciales et des décryptages réalisés en interne, cet outil permet de produire des rapports à haute valeur ajoutée dans 10 secteurs clés: agroalimentaire, assurances, aéronautique, automobile, énergies, banques, BTP, industrie pharmaceutique, Télécoms et minerais.

Le Groupe Knowdys est membre des SCIP (Strategic and Competitive Intelligence Professionals).
 

NOTRE EQUIPE

 
Knowdys c’est 37 consultants de 13 nationalités actifs sur 4 continents : Afrique, Amérique, Asie, Europe. Tous spécialistes de l’Afrique.
 
Nos consultants Partners sont des experts internationaux de l’intelligence économique, du lobbying, de la due diligence, de l’investigation financière et du capital investissement.
 
Knowdys bénéficie en outre de la précieuse collaboration de ses Honorables Correspondants issus de la haute finance, du barreau, du corps diplomatique, de la sécurité et de la Défense.
 

CEO

Ababacar MBENGUE est diplômé d’HEC Paris (Promotion 1984-1987), titulaire d’un DEA de Stratégie et Management de l’Université Paris 10 Nanterre, d’un Doctorat en Sciences de Gestion puis d’une HDR (Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches) de l’Université Paris Dauphine ainsi que de l’Agrégation des Universités Françaises en Sciences de Gestion (concours 1996). Il fut ainsi le premier ressortissant d’un pays d’Afrique Noire à être reçu au concours national français d’agrégation des Universités en gestion.

Après avoir exercé pendant dix ans une activité de formateur et d’enseignant-chercheur en management et gestion (EDF-GDF : 1989-1993 ; CERAM/Sup de Co Nice : 1992-1995 ; ESSEC : 1995-1997 ; WHARTON School, Université de Pennsylvanie : 1996-1998), il est depuis 1997 en poste comme Professeur agrégé à l’Université de Reims où il a créé et dirigé, entre autres, l'équipe de recherche REPONSE (Recherches, Études et Propositions d'Outils, de Normes et de Solutions pour les Entreprises), le Master CAAE, le Master « Administration des Entreprises », le Master « Management en Afrique » et le CIRFAM (Centre International de Recherche et de Formation Appliquées au Management).

Ababacar MBENGUE est/a été, entre autres, président-fondateur de la SAM (Société Africaine de Management) depuis 2012, membre du jury du concours d'agrégation français des facultés de sciences de gestion en 2012, président du jury du concours d'agrégation en gestion du CAMES (Conseil Africain et Malgache pour l’Enseignement Supérieur) en 2011 et 2013, président des jurys d'admission de HEC Paris (MBA, Grande École…) depuis 2011…
Dans le cadre de ses activités scientifiques et de formateur, le Professeur Ababacar MBENGUE a développé depuis plus de vingt-cinq années une expertise sur les questions techniques d’administration, de management et de gestion en vue de permettre aux dirigeants et décideurs d’optimiser leurs capacités stratégique et opérationnelle, et de gérer efficacement leurs ressources humaines en établissant un cadre pertinent pour instaurer et entretenir un dialogue structuré et efficace entre les parties, ainsi que pour mesurer et renforcer l’engagement du personnel et les pratiques d’encadrement, de mieux connaître et de veiller à l’application cohérente des lois et règlement administratifs et financiers, d’élaborer des bonnes pratiques pour mettre en œuvre des processus de planification et de suivi administratif et budgétaire performants et transparents, y compris en matière de gestion de ressources, de patrimoine bâti et non bâti, de technologie de l’information et des communications, des achats, des installations et de la logistique.

Cette expertise est utile aux grandes sociétés multinationales comme aux décideurs du secteur public et privé sur des questions de stratégie de positionnement et de création de la richesse, de développement, de conception, de planification et d’accroissement des ressources, et sur des questions techniques complexes institutionnelles et normatives concernant, inter alia, la gestion, l’état de droit, les questions africaines et internationales, la lutte contre la pauvreté, le développement, les ressources humaines, l’enseignement, la science et la culture, les défis de la gouvernance, le régionalisme et les questions d’intégration et de la dette des pays africains.
 

LE FONDATEUR

Membre de la branche américaine des Strategic and Competitive Intelligence Professionals depuis 2007, Guy Gweth est l’un des meilleurs spécialistes africains de l’intelligence stratégique, de la due diligence et de la diplomatie économique. Régulièrement invité par la presse écrite et audiovisuelle internationale (Africa24, Deutsche Welle, Forbes Afrique, L’Expansion, Le Point Afrique, RFI, etc.) il est très écouté des investisseurs internationaux.

Ancien de la 4ème promotion de l'Executive Doctorate in Business Administration de Paris-Dauphine, de l'Ecole de Guerre Economique, et du Centre d'Etudes Diplomatiques et Stratégiques de Paris, il est également diplômé de l'Institut International de Communication de Paris et de la Faculté des Sciences Juridiques et Politiques de l'Université de Yaoundé II. Cette formation riche et varié en fait un des experts africains les plus pointus de sa génération
Avant de fonder les agences Knowdys LLC, Knowdys France SAS et Knowdys Cameroun SARL, Guy Gweth a été pendant sept ans consultant en gestion des risques et enquêtes au profit de plusieurs gouvernements d'Afrique centrale et de l’Ouest, de grands groupes, d'ONG et de think tanks. Parmi ses références, on compte notamment : Caritas Internationalis, EDF R&D, Exxon Mobil, ENAM, Friedrich Ebert Stiftung, Sanofi Aventis, et USAID.

Multi-spécialiste, conférencier pour entreprises et grandes écoles, Guy Gweth dirige le programme « Doing Business in Africa » au sein du Master « Stratégie et développement d'affaires internationales » de l'Ecole Centrale de Paris (en co-accréditation avec EMLYON Business School) et intervient régulièrement à la BGFI Business School de Libreville. Il enseigne également la Due diligence au sein de l’Executive MBA « Stratégie & Consulting » de l’ESG Paris et la Géostratégie africaine à l’Université de Reims Champagne-Ardennes.
 

VOIR LES CHIFFRES CLES